Server working, steam says not responding.

Get assistance with hosting your own ARK server here.
PenalColonistCarter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:05 pm

Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby PenalColonistCarter » Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:10 pm

Greetings my fellow Colonists of the new world. I'm having trouble with my private server i'm hosting in my basement(not really in my basement, just trying to make this a happy help post with a small gimmick =/) and i am in need of help. While i am able to use my own server, others do not seem to be able to. I have used a couple different ways, and all end the same. this so called "Steam" says the server is not responding. What sort of technical sorcery is this and how do we fix it :?:
0 x


User avatar
Rayden
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby Rayden » Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:27 am

Most likely a port forwarding issue. Make sure ports 7777 and 27015 are opened on the router (and your firewall) and forwarded to your server.
0 x
World Avalon
PVE/Coop server for older gamers.
Visit http://worldavalon.eu or contact me on Steam.

PenalColonistCarter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby PenalColonistCarter » Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:44 am

did that and double checked. the ports are open on both UDP and TCP. as for forwarded to my server, how exactly do i do that? that could be my problem..
0 x

User avatar
Rayden
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby Rayden » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:43 am

Normally your router should have an option to send all traffic for certain ports (in this case 7777 and 27015) to a specific computer inside your own network.
0 x
World Avalon
PVE/Coop server for older gamers.
Visit http://worldavalon.eu or contact me on Steam.

PenalColonistCarter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby PenalColonistCarter » Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:28 pm

Rayden wrote:Normally your router should have an option to send all traffic for certain ports (in this case 7777 and 27015) to a specific computer inside your own network.

not exactly the most tech savvy but i know a thing or 2... this isn't one of them. the ports are marked as WAN now and i don't know if that's any help. how exactly do i find the option?
0 x

User avatar
Rayden
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby Rayden » Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:31 am

What's the manufacturer and model name of your router?
0 x
World Avalon
PVE/Coop server for older gamers.
Visit http://worldavalon.eu or contact me on Steam.

PenalColonistCarter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:05 pm

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby PenalColonistCarter » Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:13 pm

problem solved! we use a westell router and we had to make 2 seperate rules for it. we had to open ports 7777 through 7779 on one rule, and 27015 through 27017 and things work now.
0 x

User avatar
Rayden
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:43 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby Rayden » Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:46 pm

Good to hear. :)
0 x
World Avalon
PVE/Coop server for older gamers.
Visit http://worldavalon.eu or contact me on Steam.

g1ooom
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:52 pm

Re: Server working, steam says not responding.

Postby g1ooom » Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:14 pm

Rayden wrote:Good to hear. :)

Can I have a little help here?
I have the same issue, and it's still not fixed.
If I view the server info through steam, the address is 192.168.1.77:7777, which is local.
I have done the port forwarding. 27000/27050 (UDP), 7777/7778 (UDP), 32330 (TCP).
I have disabled my firewall software.
I have made all the service could traffic in/out through my router.
I have disabled WAN PING block mode.
I have tried to enable DMZ hosting on my local IP.
My router mode is V1000H (Telus).
0 x


Return to “Server Hosting Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest