[Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Get assistance with hosting your own ARK server here.
HellsGuard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:00 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby HellsGuard » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:45 am

Seyonne wrote:I hope this is in the correct forum. I use the tool, follow each step accordingly. Server launches, then eats up 3 gigs of ram before crashing. I'm trying to host this server from not at home, it has 3 cores and 4 gigs of ram. I'm not sure if this game actually requires more ram... or what. I've hosted other dedicated servers with these people, hosting up to 2 games at the same time with no problems. Is this something I'm doing wrong or do I simply not have the ram?

The server itself uses between 3gb and 5gb of ram

Stvi wrote:Hey bro;

I have used your tool and create a server all things were fine. However i have ping problem. Can your tool cause lag or making miss configuration ? I have server xeon quad core 8.0ghz and 8 gb ram currently, i have just 10 between 20 player now. When i ping my server from cmd it alwayas 30 between 35, however ingame my players' ping are more then 100 sometimes 200.

The tool does nothing more than set your config and open the server with the correct parameters, anything lag related will probably be the connection.

Everyone should also read through the steam discussions post, there have been a lot of problems resolved in there http://steamcommunity.com//app/346110/discussions/0/615086038678228443/
0 x


Wissky
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:05 pm

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Wissky » Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:34 am

Thank you guys, i got it working, now my only problem is to figure out why it doesn't show op in the server listing and all of that stuff. tho i think that got more to do whit my noobishness on the port forwarding part.
0 x

Tomb
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:02 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Tomb » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:06 am

Hi!
First: Thank you for this tool. I use it every day!

Just a quick question. I have been using this tool for three days now and every time before starting the server I press the update button. Is this the neccesary to keep using the latest build of the game? I have seen a lot of listed servers have different build numbers.

Thanks again. :)
0 x

Relicz87
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:29 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Relicz87 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:04 am

HellsGuard wrote:You should not need to do anything, I would make a backup of your ark_server folder, then drop the new tool in and replace the other one, open it up and choose Default Setup, let it load and make sure your config loaded up all of the options, as long as it does that you should be good to go.


Okay, so I followed the steps you told me. Made sure to make a back-up. I replaced the .exe with the new .exe, I opened it and choose "default setup" however, it did not upload my options for my server. What do I do?
0 x

MasamiPhoenix
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:55 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby MasamiPhoenix » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:13 am

I'm having the same problem as Wissky. I used the tools and followed the steps. I have the window with the server information running, but the server doesn't show up anywhere. It doesn't show up on the arkserver website, or in the sessions list anywhere (I checked UnOfficial, and LAN)

Anybody know what I'm doing wrong. I really want to host this for my friends.
0 x

22actual
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:04 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby 22actual » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:06 am

Do you have anything for reboot recovery?

Maybe output a batch file we can add to the server start? I'm open to suggestions as well
0 x

SLI_Fallen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:00 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby SLI_Fallen » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:27 am

Ok, my problem is a bit different. Installed using defaults. Forwarded 27015-27016 and 7777-7778 on the servers firewall and on the router. Started the server and after a few minutes it DID SHOW UP on the LAN tab. And after about 10 minutes it DID show up on the arkservers.net list. However, when I try to connect I am getting a "server not responding" error ??

It cant be my port forwarding right? The server is showing up both on lan AND arkserver.net........ :?: :?:
0 x

22actual
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:04 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby 22actual » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:34 am

SLI_Fallen wrote:Ok, my problem is a bit different. Installed using defaults. Forwarded 27015-27016 and 7777-7778 on the servers firewall and on the router. Started the server and after a few minutes it DID SHOW UP on the LAN tab. And after about 10 minutes it DID show up on the arkservers.net list. However, when I try to connect I am getting a "server not responding" error ??

It cant be my port forwarding right? The server is showing up both on lan AND arkserver.net........ :?: :?:


It doesn't sound like a problem with this dedicated server tool. You might want to look into trouble shooting the server itself.
0 x

MisBi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:04 pm

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby MisBi » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:19 pm

Hello everyone !

First, thanks for the tool !

Although I'm not a total noob in IT and servers etc, I'm not really sure how to use it. I have read most of the posts here and I'm still not understanding totally what I'm doing.

Step by step, this is what I did.

- I put your tool on my desktop, and just ran it, used the 'default config'. When I pressed 'launch server' I had this message similar to Wissky's : "Server file not found, run an update."
And that's the only thing I ever got since then... I tried several other things with installing SteamCMD etc.

- So I updated it several times, having errors that were shutting down the process.

- I finally copy/pasted it in "Steam\SteamApps\common\ARK" directly and ran it. I installed again the SteamCMD and ran 'server update'. Now the popping cmd is actually doing (downloading) something and it just finished as I'm writing this.

- I pressed launch server and it wrote 'server started'. Still, I'm not sure about what I really did and I will have NO IDEA of what to tweak if anything goes wrong with the server (impossible to connect or else).

I know that there are some indications on the bottom right corner of the tool window, but it requires to launch the program first... While I think that a simple readme file or else, with a clear procedure of where to put this tool in the very first place to make this work almlost instantly, what to run, what to install and where, would be VERY, VERY useful...

Otherwise, thanks so much for that tool :)

UPDATE : My server is running and I'm connected on it, playing my character. I have my ports forwarded, although, my friends are not able to join either by direct connection or invite.
Last edited by MisBi on Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

22actual
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:04 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby 22actual » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:46 pm

MisBi wrote:- I pressed launch server and it wrote 'server started'. Still, I'm not sure about what I really did and I will have NO IDEA of what to tweak if anything goes wrong with the server (impossible to connect or else).


It takes about 5-10 minutes for your server to show up in the servers window.

Steam->View->Servers->Favourites-> add a server to favourites. add your ip and port. and refresh after 10-15 minutes.

If after 20 minutes it's not there then you need to trouble shoot the server itself, the tool has done it's job.
0 x


Return to “Server Hosting Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests