[Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Get assistance with hosting your own ARK server here.
User avatar
sendjes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:39 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby sendjes » Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:42 am

Great tool, but is it possible to use with current install of ARK, without it need to download the files again? If so, which folder do I need to point the program too?
My folderstructure is as follows:

Code: Select all

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\ARK
0 x


Denathil
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:12 pm

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Denathil » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:14 pm

My server is only showing up as a LAN server. Does that mean my port forwarding is wrong?

edit:
Now it shows up on arkservers.net but i cant join it.
Last edited by Denathil on Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

Vanblam
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Vanblam » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:51 pm

That was strange.. That happened to me too. I went and checked my port forwarding and they were all gone/reset. Don't know how that happened.
0 x

HellsGuard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:00 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby HellsGuard » Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:20 am

Swaffles wrote:The tool is pretty handy, but it doesn't really help with any thing that you can't figure out in-game.

I still can't get my server up due to the issue with the port forwarding, an issue that my friends have problems with as well.
We have done what is required to open those ports, as described in numerous guides (27015 and 7777), but it keeps saying that 27015 couldn't open.

Could you implement a feature that could forward the ports for you? If not, then this software is simply useless.

First, thanks for comin out, second, if your router or modem are not allowing you to open ports then contact your ISP and have them do it for you, thirdly, there is no way for simple software to magically open your ports for you, that would require a metric ton of programming which I'm sure you don't understand in the slightest, and last but not least, if the software which I developed on my own free time, aside from my programming career, is considered useless to you, then please feel free to stop using it and follow the wonderful guide provided by eXi, or you could go ahead and fork my github which is the exact source code of the software and then modify it to suit your needs, it is after all free software that has publicly released source code.

sendjes wrote:Great tool, but is it possible to use with current install of ARK, without it need to download the files again? If so, which folder do I need to point the program too?
My folderstructure is as follows:

Code: Select all

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\ARK

Yes, just use the advanced setup and select that folder, I will warn you that doing so could cause your in-game settings to reset.

There has been a ton of support happening on the steam discussion, and I do suggest that you guys have a read on there as well, just remember one important thing, if you're only seeing your server in LAN, and you're viewing it from the same connection, it's always going to show up in LAN, so it would be helpful to have a friend add the server to their favorites via steam, they just need your ip and port, grab your IP from something like whatismyip.com and simple slap on the port on the end, so if your ip is 123.123.123.123 they would just add a new favorite and type 123.123.123.123:27015

I apologize for the downtime, I've been going crazy at work, had a guy quit so I had to pick up his slack which is on top of projects I was already working on.
0 x

User avatar
sendjes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:39 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby sendjes » Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:34 am

Thanks for your reply, so will the reset happen everytime I use the update, or just the first run? And keep up the good work.
0 x

Tomb
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:02 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Tomb » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:28 am

For anyone with port forwading problems: The tool has nothing to do with that.

Personally I like this guide the best: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -RPXB-7955
But you can go here as well: http://portforward.com/english/applicat ... am_Client/
And here: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -GLVN-8711
And maybe here: http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... Server.htm


Note that you need to forward both TCP and UDP. And in your Windows Firewall and router.
0 x

Relicz87
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:29 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Relicz87 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:18 am

Hey HellsGuard. This time Im not here to whine. Im here to ask something. Is it possible to put in an option to "deactive" whistling? At least the multi-whistle (J). Got a big tribe on my server and they keep using it without thinking.. losing dinos that way. So just wondering if it would be possible to implement into the DST?

Amazing job on the client. Ive had no issues so far. It rly is awesome. Good job, keep it up!
- Relicz.
0 x

Roundaround
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:04 pm

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Roundaround » Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:23 pm

I'm glad someone sad taken the time to make a server management tool, but I'm curious as to why you made the decision to use VB to make it. I went to the GitHub page with the intention of picking up one of your planned features and implementing it, but was disappointed to discover your decision. I understand functionally they are very similar (I spent two years working with VB6 and VB.NET at work), but I find VB to be far less maintainable...

Regardless, I will definitely be giving this a shot. It's just unfortunate I don't have the time to contribute to your efforts. :c
0 x

HellsGuard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:00 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby HellsGuard » Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:05 pm

Relicz87 wrote:Hey HellsGuard. This time Im not here to whine. Im here to ask something. Is it possible to put in an option to "deactive" whistling? At least the multi-whistle (J). Got a big tribe on my server and they keep using it without thinking.. losing dinos that way. So just wondering if it would be possible to implement into the DST?

Amazing job on the client. Ive had no issues so far. It rly is awesome. Good job, keep it up!
- Relicz.

As far as I know, no, the only thing I could suggest is to setup the governance options so that tamed Dino's are per tribe member.

sendjes wrote:Thanks for your reply, so will the reset happen everytime I use the update, or just the first run? And keep up the good work.

It's only a possibility that it can happen, once the parameters are in your config then it shouldn't reset ever again, even through an update.

Roundaround wrote:I'm glad someone sad taken the time to make a server management tool, but I'm curious as to why you made the decision to use VB to make it. I went to the GitHub page with the intention of picking up one of your planned features and implementing it, but was disappointed to discover your decision. I understand functionally they are very similar (I spent two years working with VB6 and VB.NET at work), but I find VB to be far less maintainable...

Regardless, I will definitely be giving this a shot. It's just unfortunate I don't have the time to contribute to your efforts. :c

VB was just simpler, being free and open source I just wanted something simple and easily put together, sure I could have used a few other options as my programming knowledge is fairly extensive, but it was just super simple to put it together so the community could have something to help them, the initial iteration took less than 3 hours with an hour long break for food lol
0 x

Arlexia
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:40 am

Re: [Tool] Dedicated Server Tool

Postby Arlexia » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:16 am

I have installed and followed directions. I can only see it as a Lan server and not on the unoffical list. We are trying to make a server were are friend can play with us from a different house. I use hamachi for other games. Is there anyway o change the ip of the sevrer to the ip my hamachi has? If there is anyway i can do this or any tips you can give that would be great. Thank you
0 x


Return to “Server Hosting Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests