[UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Get assistance with hosting your own ARK server here.
XxSTOZZYxX
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:00 pm

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby XxSTOZZYxX » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:21 pm

OK........ So i literally have no idea why all of a sudden it started workin, but went through again, updated everything, went through the motions, and my server's listed.

Only thing I did (using the tool, mind you) was delete my server config, start tool, run server, wait for server to populate in steam LAN list, stop server, save config, restart tool, launch server, and then BOOM... "TEST" appeared in the Unofficial listing.

So... to anyone having issues with their server showing up locally but not public, give that a shot. I was able to join my server from the unofficial list in game. And, it works fairly well off the local machine.
0 x


ApexPredator
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby ApexPredator » Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:11 pm

i followed the guide and it worked great i have my own server but one problem is the updating i never used steamcmd before cuz it was not in the guide when creating the server where should i put the update ?
0 x

User avatar
eXi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby eXi » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:43 am

Hey there,

i have no time updating my thread right now, since i am working on my own project.

As long as this guide is working, i would be happy if you could write the Game Version into your posts,
so that other users know that it is still working. Otherwise, please try to find out why it is not working
and post you results here. I will update the thread as soon as i have time.

Also i don't use STEAMCMD for this Server. It is the normal Server that comes with the Game.
If you want SteamCMD, check out the Tool to create a Server.


FYI: I have not played ARK since i wrote this Guide (just have no time). But i updated my Game yesterday
and tried to start the Server without changing anything. Although it start and i can see it in the LAN list
as described, my Server isn't showing up on the Website as well.

I would highly recommend you to check the Tool and download the Server with SteamCMD. I'm not sure if something
broke in my Setup, because of the recent updates. If yes, please tell me and i will edit it.
0 x

leftbehind126
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:45 pm

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby leftbehind126 » Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:50 pm

eXi wrote:Hey there,

i have no time updating my thread right now, since i am working on my own project.

---

I would highly recommend you to check the Tool and download the Server with SteamCMD. I'm not sure if something
broke in my Setup, because of the recent updates. If yes, please tell me and i will edit it.


I'll try to help out and answer posts when I can, that way you have some backup if you are short on time. :D

As for the guide- I can verify that it is still working as of 6/17/2015 - Version 176.0. I think the only difference I've seen is that it does not show up on ARK's website.
0 x

JGalloway
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:55 am

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby JGalloway » Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:59 am

Hey Exi, i followed all the steps and i wonder if you could help me, i've found the server in the LAN list but when i try to connect it gets me stuck on a loading screen that doesnt have a loading bar, any suggestions?
0 x

Haengerboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:41 am

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby Haengerboy » Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:08 am

First of all thanks for this usefull guide eXi!
It's working fine and I am able to find my own hosted server in the "lan"-list.
For me it is possible to play and it works fine.

But when a friend of mine wants to join he gets the message "server is not responding".
And he can not find the server in the "unofficial"-serverlist, too.

I hope some of you had this error, too and know how to fix it.

Thank you!
0 x

edwinpeh
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:17 am

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby edwinpeh » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:19 am

thanks for the guide i got it working. but whenever i create a character and i logged out and when i tried to join my own server again it just make me create a new character. friends are able to join just that all log out will be prompt to create a new character when joining back into it any help?
0 x

Robowded
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby Robowded » Mon Jun 22, 2015 12:20 pm

On the copy and paste code that you provide, I am unsure of what to do with the question marks after things such as "queryport=27015?" do I replace the question mark with a space or do I just remove it?
0 x

verthus
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:44 pm

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby verthus » Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:48 pm

i did everything and the server is running great and awesome but i can only have 5 people at a time on the sever. in the config file gameusersettings i changed max players from 5 to 10 but server still allows only 5 people i was wondering if there is a way were i can increase the player cap or is that just the limit my network can handle?
0 x

edwinpeh
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:17 am

Re: [UNOFFICIAL] How to Create, Host and Join your own local Server!

Postby edwinpeh » Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:35 pm

Miraak wrote:
scnede wrote:
Miraak wrote:Okay, that is a little strange.. if there are any capitalizations in the password it may be the game being caps sensitive. I'm not exactly sure what or why it might be doing so; at least not without being able to test it myself. Right now all I can think to suggest is use a new password, make sure you're typing it in the exact way you have it in your documents, or make sure that you left no extra spaces behind the password itself.

And if I can ask a favor. If you're able, could you copy and paste the contents of your Windows Server file into a RAR file? For whatever reason that mine is missing, I think all I'd need was the exact files from someone else.


I will change the password to only lower case letters and test that out, hopefully it works!
And I have attached the .ZIP folder.
WindowsServer.zip


Hopefully it will indeed, either way tell us what happens.
Also thank you. ^^


Hi miraak did the windows server help you in anyway? I have the same problem
0 x


Return to “Server Hosting Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests